Regmi, Gautam elected Chairman and GS of Nepal China Study center

Telegraph Nepal

The Eighth General Assembly of China Study Center was held on 14th April, 2012, at Kamaladi Banquet Hall, Kathmandu.

At the beginning of the assembly, one minute's silence was observed in memory of Center's advisors Yubraj Singh Pradhan, Mohamad Habbibulah, Govind Bhatta and the founder executive member Shadmukh Thapa who passed away last year. (Rest in peace).

The assembly expressed condolence on their death and applauded their meaningful contributions made to the Center during their life time.

Mr. Madan Regmi, the Chairperson of the Center, inaugurated the formal proceeding of the assembly. In his opening speech, he highlighted the significance of the Center in strengthening and promoting the policy-based strategic relationship between Nepal and China. He expressed the hope that in future, the Center will continue to play more meaningful role in promoting people to people relationship between the two countries.

After the inaugural speech of the Chairperson, the Secretary General of the Center, Dr. Upendra Gautam, presented the Center's 8th general assembly report, consisting of its activities over the last three years.

Dr. Gautam said that the Center regularly organized seminars, workshops, conferences, and talk programmes despite the inadequate means of support. He stressed on developing the Center as a smart and simple organization dedicated to its objective.

Prof. Ganga Prasad Upreti, the Treasure of the Center, presented the fiscal report of the last three years. He presented also an estimated budget of income and expenditure for the coming fiscal year. Thereafter, members in the assembly raised questions and also offered critical suggestions to strengthen the functioning of the Center in future.

The General Secretary Dr. Gautam and the Treasurer Mr. Uprety responded to the questions raised from the floor and assured the members that their suggestions would be taken into consideration in the Center's activities in the future.

The Secretary of the Center, Mr. Prakash Babu Paudel informed the assembly about the procedure of the election of the executive body for the next term.

All the members unanimously voiced that the incumbent Chairperson Mr. Madan Regmi should be elected for the next term also. They also authorized the incumbent Chairperson Mr. Regmi to form a new executive committee.

As per the suggestion of the assembly, the Chairperson Mr. Regmi read out the names of the executive members and the advisors for the next term. He added few additional names to honour the suggestions provided by the assembly members.

Congratulations to the new office bearers.

Post your Comment here

TERMS OF USE:The views, opinions and comments posted are your, and are not endorsed by this website. You shall be solely responsible for the comment posted here. The website reserves the right to delete, reject, or otherwise remove any views, opinions and comments posted or part thereof. You shall ensure that the comment is not inflammatory, abusive, derogatory, defamatory &/or obscene, or contain pornographic matter and/or does not constitute hate mail, or violate privacy of any persons) or breach confidentiality or otherwise is illegal, immoral or contrary to public policy. Nor should it contain anything infringing copyright &/or intellectual property rights of any person(s).


I agree